It’s raining prairie dogs…

Day 6…

66.3 miles, 1,443 total traveled miles. 

Didn’t get very far today because of the weather. It started raining as we were on the road, and driving the roads here is very different from Michigan. The roads are much smoother and therefore slicker in the rain. As we were getting higher and into more of the rocky terrain, with the curves, I didn’t feel comfortable driving in the rain, so we decided to pull over to let it all pass. 
We got our first preview of the mountains though…they are so beautiful!! We can’t wait to get closer to them. Saw a sign that said our elevation was “8643 feet”!!! We can feel it in our ears and I can definitely feel it when breathing. 

But our biggest thrill today was seeing prairie dogs outside of the zoo!! Couldn’t believe how cute they were!! Rob says they’re the “gerbils of the prairie”. LOL. They move so fast and it’s so funny to watch them move around and then stop and stand up. I thought they’d be bigger, but they remind me of a cross between a chipmunk and a squirrel, only without a tail. 

  
It’s still raining. The Weather Channel App predicts rain until tomorrow morning, so I guess, this is where we stay for the night. The sky is so beautiful with the beginnings of the mountains in the distance. I wish I could do it justice with art. 

  
We miss you all so much. From our heart to yours….

Leave a comment